“My tummy loves chocolate”

Todays photo challenge theme: fancy

Today my sister, niece, and I visited a fancy coffee shop in town.

We had plans for a week to go to the farmers market and take some photos. We get together and it is way to chilly for us. So, we pack up, and head to a coffee shop. It’s fine, we know we are wimps. But where else do you go when you’re cold and want to be cozy? We decided to go to Eurasia Coffee & Tea. For those of you who have never heard of it, they give 10% of your purchase to fighting human trafficking, poverty, disease, and illiteracy. When they say #coffeewithapurpose, they mean it. Okay, I’ll get off my “buy local” kick now. I have always been very intrigued with their lights. So naturally, I thought these lights fit fancy very accurately.

DSC_0183small.jpg

These two are always darling to photograph. I can always count on getting raw emotion with them. And I just love hearing what 3 year-olds have to say. I love their perspective on life. Things like, “My tummy loves chocolate” as she licks the hot chocolate mustache from her lips…mine too, Em, mine too. One of my biggest reasons I love photographing my niece is because she is proof that miracles still exist. Yeah, she’s my niece, and everyone knows I’m obsessed with her, but I have better reasoning than this. My sister would not be where she is at today if it wasn’t for that little girl. My sweet EmmaLynn rescued my sister out of one of the worse situations possible, and turned something positive from it. She was her miracle baby. Being this little girls aunt is the best gift I could ever be given. Not only because she runs up to me yelling “I missed you” (in a monster voice) and squeezes me tight, but because she gave me my sister back. That blonde hair, blue eyed beauty let my sisters heart beat again. Little does she know, at only three years old, she holds my entire world. As I grow up, I realize how much value time has. Todays coffee shop adventure holds a special place in my heart. These are the moments I want to be able to capture with the click of my finger. Today I saw a word that really stuck with me: meraki – doing something with soul, creativity, or love…putting something of yourself into what you’re doing, whatever it may be. When people ask me what a lifestyle shoot is and why I love doing them, this experience is my answer. You never know what someones story might be or who they treasure near and dear to their heart – or where ones story completely flipped to the sweeter side of life’s greatest adventures.

dsc_0199smalldsc_0074smalldsc_0191smalldsc_0181smalldsc_0035smalldsc_0018small

| Crystal French |

Leave a Reply

